I Need to Stop Drinking! By Liz Hemingway

The author has seen the problems alcohol can cause. It can take over your everything, including your self-respect. The book was for her husband.

How many times have you been telling yourself you need to quit? But yet it never seems to work. There are benefits to alcohol and you keep telling yourself that it is helpful. The truth is that it is possible to live without alcohol. A happy and joyful life is possible without alcohol. Your life will be much better if you escape its clutches.

First the man takes the drink, then the drink takes a drink, then the drink takes the man. – Old Japanese Saying

My dad used to be drunk after work. He would demand for dinner after he returned home drunk. He was often in debt because of his drinking habits. Despite his bad experiences, I was drawn to it too. I thought it would improve confidence. At 16, my boyfriend bought me cider and vodka and I recalled throwing up very violently. Once, I drank till I was in a comatose and had to be admitted to the hospital. Soon, it became worse and I started drinking every night. It became so bad that I often fell asleep on the floor. Every day, I would wake up with regret. However, this cycle would continue again. The problem with red wine was that it gave bad hangovers. Even after bad experiences, I was undeterred and kept on going. Alcohol has the ability to turn you into a scheming, devious person. There were methods I took to ensure that not many people would suspect me being drunk. I often made up excuses to drink as well. Can you, as the reader, relate to the above? The decision to stop has been a difficult one. Alcohol had controlled me for a long time. If you give it up, it will be the best feeling in the world. Not drinking it will give you PEACE and FREEDOM. It can never be your friend and it is a very strong force. Learn to say no and resist it.

Alcohol is like a ticking time bomb; you never know when you may make a poor decision when you’re under the influence that might affect your future negatively. – Liz Hemingway

Alcohol is part of your culture. They are readily available in supermarkets and are featured in Hollywood films.

The Road to Misery. I made all the bad points of drinking. Some of it are (1) becoming lazier; (2) losing motivation; (3) weight gain; (4) less exercise; (5) feelings of guilt; (6) waste of money; (7) makes me depressed.

My Escape. Why didn’t I quit even if I knew the harm it did? The answer was because I felt I would be giving something up if I quit it. I didn’t want life to be ruled by alcohol. There are plenty of calories packed in a bottle of wine. Not drinking was like release from prison.

Save Money. You can get richer by compounding your money. You can save at least $50 per week. The trick I used was to deposit my money in a savings account. All this money will lead to substantial savings down the road.

Drunkenness is nothing but voluntary madness. – Seneca

Change Your Thinking, and You’ll Change Your Life! I realized that alcohol only gave me misery and nothing else. You have to see a life where you longer drink. Do whatever it takes to stay sober and use your willpower to make those around you feel proud. Don’t be afraid of losing your drinking buddies. Often, people will be jealous that you managed to break away from it. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Channel your money into getting a different kind of high. Does it make you happy? Does it give you confidence?. Tact and compassion are not possible under alcohol. Often, people wouldn’t want to chat with you if they know you’re drunk. Make the most of your life today.

It is like gambling somehow. You go out for a night of drinking and you don’t know where you are going to end up the next day. It could end up good or it could be disastrous. It’s like the throw of the dice. – Jim Morrison, died at age 27

Drinking Has Always Caused Us Problems. After the weighing the pros and cons, I decided to quit. I have more time to think clearly and devote time to my business. Drinking makes you busy, but yet you go nowhere with it.

Reasons for Hanging On to Alcohol. Improve your self-esteem and work on it daily.

Health Problems. Alcohol can affect the way you look and your complexion and radiance. It is a slow killer. Accepting and recognizing the problem is a big step one can take to changing your behaviour.

Things that have helped me to escape. Take responsibility for yourself. Drinking could be a sign of low self-esteem. If you can boost your self-esteem, you can eventually quit drinking. Get into the habit of positive thinking. Read motivational books. Stop comparing yourself to others. Keep a clear line if possible. Do not even take the first glass. There are certain tools that you can use to help you. One of it is the Emotional Freedom Technique. State the problem statement and tap yourself at various parts of your body. Google it. Attend support groups.

Celebrities Who Don’t Drink Alcohol. Once you take the first drink, it is easy to revert into your old habits. There are many famous celebrities who have managed to quit alcohol. In order to be your best, you have to quit alcohol.

My Stop-Drinking Blog. Some of the key actions from the blog are as follows. She started off feeling miserable and wanting to quit alcohol. I have no hangover now. The sun is shining bright every morning and I am looking at life with more optimism. When it comes to Friday, I have to resist the temptation to take alcohol by telling myself that I deserve better. Keep repeating to yourself: ‘Alcohol is the Enemy!’ My friends can stop at two glasses but I kept going on. I am not using drinking to deal with my family problems. Alcohol was a destroyer of self-respect. By not drinking, I have managed to save more money. I have learnt to be more thankful of the things around me. It is my 18th successive day without alcohol. Every time I drink, I calculated that I lost 30 hours, 6 hours drinking and 24 hours recovering. It is very difficult to lose weight when you are addicted to alcohol. Not drinking will give you strength. Do not allow yourself to be controlled by alcohol. Learn to start on affirmations. It is very easy to pick up a drink to relieve boredom. Be careful. Pick up hobbies to fill your time and do good for others! I enjoyed driving home and not waking up to a hangover. I kept telling myself that others will suffer except for myself.

Be the change that you wish to see in the world. – Mahatma Gandhi

Learning to Live Your Life Without Alcohol. What will I say when I go to a party or other celebration where I will be offered a drink? You could do so many times with the free time you have. It is also possible to save the money to start an online business.

Keeping yourself Strong. Make a list on why you should stop drinking alcohol.

Summary. Be mentally present for your friends and family. Lose weight. Save Money. Be a role model for those around you.

drinking

Leave a Reply

