Fiction quotes 1 to 50

  1. ‘What shall we do about poor little Tigger? If he never eats nothing he’ll never get bigger. He doesn’t like honey and haycorns and thistles. Because of the taste because of the bristles. And all the good things which an animal likes have the wrong sort of swallow or too many spikes.’ Pooh, on Tigger (The House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne)
  2. ‘I could spend a happy morning seeing piglet. And I couldn’t spend a happy morning not seeing piglet. And it doesn’t seem to matter if I don’t see Owl and Eeyore (or any of the others), and I’m not going to see Owl or Eeyore (or any of the others) or Christopher Robin.’ Pooh
  3. ‘I’m not saying there won’t be an Accident now, mind you. They’re funny things, Accidents. You never have them till you’re having them.’ Eeyore
  4. ‘And the cuckoo isn’t cooing, But he’s cucking and he’s ooing, And a Pooh is simply poohing like a bird.’ Winnie the Pooh
  5. ‘Pooh began to feel a little more comfortable, because when you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.’ A.A Milne (The House at Pooh Corner)
  6. ‘Well, we keep looking for Home and not finding it, so I thought that if we looked for this pit, we’d be sure not to find it, which would be a good thing, because then we might find something that we weren’t looking for, which might be just what we were looking for, really.’ Winnie the Pooh
  7. ‘Let’s go and see everybody. Because when you’ve been walking in the wind for miles, and you suddenly go into somebody’s house. It’s what I call a Friendly Day.’ Pooh
  8. ‘Piglet: Rabbit’s clever. Rabbit has brain. Pooh: I suppose that that’s why he never understands anything.’
  9. ‘It’s your fault, Eeyore. You’ve never been to see any of us. You just stay here in this one corner of the Forest waiting for the others to come to you. Why don’t you go to them sometimes?’ Rabbit to Eeyore
  10. 10. ‘Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing for Pooh to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.’ A.A Milne (The House at Pooh Corner)
  1. ‘What I like best in the whole world is Me and Piglet going to see you and it being a hummy sort of day outside, and birds singing.’ Winnie the Pooh
  2. ‘What I like doing best is Nothing. Well, it’s when people call out at you just as you’re going off to do it. What are you going to do, and you say, Oh, nothing, and then you go and do it. It means just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.’ Christopher Robin
  3. ‘Pooh, promise you won’t forget about me, ever. Not even when I’m a hundred.’ Christopher Robin to Pooh
  4. ‘I’m like. Like. I’m like a grenade, Mom. I’m a grenade and at some point I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimize the casualties, okay? I’m a grenade. I just want to stay away from people and read books and think and be with you guys because there’s nothing I can do about hurting you; you’re too invested, so just please let me do that, okay? I’m not depressed. I don’t need to get out more. And I can’t be a regular teenager, because I’m a grenade.’ Hazel
  5. ‘I can’t talk about our love story, so I will talk about math. I am not a mathematician, but I know this: There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s 0.1 and 0.12 and 0.112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Augustus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.’ Hazel
  6. ‘I’m in love with you♥, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you♥, and I know that love♥ is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.♥’ Augustus to Hazel (The Fault in our Stars by John Green)
  7. ‘But you keep the promise anyway. That’s what love♥ is. Love♥ is keeping the promise anyway. Don’t you believe in true love♥? But I believe in true love♥, you know? I don’t believe that everybody gets to keep their eyes or not get sick or whatever, but everybody should have true love♥, and it should last at least as long as your life does.’ Isaac (The Fault in our Stars by John Green)
  8. ‘Hazel is different: She walks lightly upon the Earth. Hazel knows the truth: We’re as likely to hurt the universe as we are to help it, and we’re not likely to do either. People will say it’s sad that she leaves a lesser scar, that fewer remember her, that she was loved deeply but not widely. But it’s not sad, Van Houten. It’s triumphant. It’s heroic. Isn’t that the real heroism? Like the doctors say: First, do no harm.’ Augustus, on a tribute to Hazel, his cancer striken gf (The Fault in our Stars by John Green)
  9. ‘You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you.’ Augustus(The Fault in our Stars by John Green)
  10. ‘A fine writer will always make you feel like you are in the scene watching everything happen… Sit back and allow the words to wash around you, like music.’ Mrs Phelps, a librarian (Matilda by Roald Dahl)
  11. ‘Television rots the sense in the head! It kills imagination dead! It clogs and clutters up the mind! It makes a child so dull and blind he can no longer understand a fantasy, a fairyland!’ Roald Dahl (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory)
  12. ‘‘I don’t want a grown-up person to be my successor at the factory at all. A grownup won’t listen to me; he won’t learn. He will try to do things his own way and not mine. So I have to have a child. I want a good sensible loving child, one to whom I can tell all my most precious candy-making secrets – while I am still alive.’ Mr Willy Wonka
  13. ‘Be what you would seem to be. Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise.’ Duchess to Alice (Alice in Wonderland)
  14. ‘Lastly she pictured herself to be a grown woman and how she would keep the simple and loving heart of her childhood: and how she would gather about her other little children, and make their eyes bright and eager with many a strange tale, perhaps even with the dream of Wonderland of long ago: and how she would feel with all their simple sorrows, and find a pleasure in all their simple joys, remembering her own child-life, and the happy summer days.’ Lewis Carroll (Alice in Wonderland)
  15. ‘If the farmers want to be horrible, let them. We down here are decent peace-loving people.’ Mr Fox
  16. ‘All of a sudden, he had a tremendous urge to do something about Grandma. Something whopping. Something absolutely terrific. A real shocker. A sort of explosion. He wanted to blow away the witchy smell that hung about her in the next room.’ Roald Dahl (George’s Marvellous Medicine)
  17. ‘We never change our spots. Some of us, of course, are born with more spots than others, but we never change them. The number of spots that a Ladybug has is simply a way of showing which branch of the family she belongs to. I, for example, as you can see for yourself, am a Nine-Spotted Ladybug. I am very lucky. It is a fine thing to be.’ Ladybug (James and the Giant Peach)
  18. ‘We do it for the farmers. It makes the soil nice and light and crumbly so that things will grow well in it. If you really want to know, the farmers couldn’t do without us. We are essential. We are vital. So it is only natural that the farmer should love us.’ The Earthworm
  19. ‘It seems that almost everyone around here is loved. How nice this is!’ James
  20. ‘The airplane comes clattering and roaring through the sky, and whatever might be lurking secretly up there in the great cloud-mountains goes running for cover at its approach. That is why people who travel in airplanes never see anything.’ Roald Dahl (James and the Giant Peach)
  21. ‘And James, who once, if you remember, had been the safest and the loneliest little boy that you could find, now had all the friends and playmates in the world.’ Roald Dahl (James and the Giant Peach)
  22. ‘It’s a funny thing about mothers and fathers. Even when their own child is the most disgusting little blister you could ever imagine, they still think that he or she is wonderful. Some parents go further. They become so blinded by adoration they manage to convince themselves their child has qualities of genius.’ Roald Dahl (Matilda)
  23. ‘Matilda knew it was wrong to hate her parents like this, but she was finding it very hard not to do so. All the reading she had done had given her a view of life that they had never seen.’ Roald Dahl
  24. ‘Matilda seemed to know that neither crying nor sulking every got anyone anywhere. The only sensible thing to do when you are attacked is, as Napoleon once said, to counter-attack.’ Roald Dahl
  25. ‘I do think children books’ should contain humor. Children are not so serious as grown-ups and they love to laugh.’ Matilda
  26. ‘No, I don’t think Ms Trunchbull’s mad. But she’s very dangerous. Being in this school is like being in a cage with a cobra. You have to be very fast on your feet.’ Matilda
  27. ‘I have never been able to understand why small children are so disgusting. They are the bane of my life. They are like insects. They should be got rid of as early as possible. We get rid of flies with fly-spray and by hanging up fly-paper. I have often thought of inventing a spray for getting rid of small children.’ Ms Trunchbull
  28. ‘If a person has ugly thoughts, it begins to show on the face. And when that person has ugly thoughts every day, every week, every year, the face gets uglier and uglier until it gets so ugly you can hardly bear to look at it.’ Roald Dahl (The Twits)
  29. ‘A person who has good thought cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.’ Roald Dahl (The Twits)
  30. ‘If a creature grows slowly enough – I mean very very slowly indeed – then you’ll never notice that it has grown at all, especially if you see it every day.’ Roald Dahl (Esio Trot)
  31. ‘Dreams, my love, are very mysterious things. They float around in the night air like little clouds, searching for sleeping people.’ Danny’s Dad (Danny the Champion of the World)
  32. ‘Grown-ups are complicated creatures, full of quirks and secrets. Some have quirkier quirks and deeper secrets than others, but all of them, including one’s own parents, have two or three private habits hidden up their sleeves that would probably make you gasp if you knew about them.’ Danny
  33. ‘The weasel is the bravest of all the animals. The mother will fight to the death to defend her own children. She will never run away, not even from a fox which is one hundred times bigger than her. She will stay beside her nest and fight the fox until she is killed.’ Danny’s Dad
  34. ‘The old male bullfrog often becomes so pleased with the sound of his mating call that his wife has to nudge him several times before he’ll stop his burping and turn around to hug her. We men are not so very different from the bullfrog.’ Danny’s Dad to his son (Danny the Champion of the World by Roald Dahl)
  35. ‘What I have been trying so hard to tell you all along is simply that my father, without the slightest doubt, was the most marvelous and exciting father a boy ever had.’ Danny
  36. ‘All you do is to look at a page in this book because that’s where we always will be. No book ever ends when it’s full of your friends, the Giraffe and the Pelly and me.’ Roald Dahl (The Giraffe and the Pelly and me)
  37. ‘I should like you to know that if it wasn’t for your father we should all be dead by now. Your father is a fantastic fox.’ Mrs Fox (Mr Fantastic Fox by Roald Dahl)
  38. ‘Son, I don’t know how people recognize each other in Heaven. They just feel it. You don’t need your eyes to love, right? You just feel it inside you. That’s how it is in Heaven. It’s just love, and no one forgets who they love.’ August’s Mom (Wonder by R.J. Palacio)
  39. ‘I have to invite everyone because I don’t want anyone to get their feelings hurt if they find out other people are invited and they aren’t.’ August (Wonder by R.J. Palacio)
  40. ‘Your name was removed from the registers, every record of everything you had ever done was wiped out, your one-time existence was denied and then forgotten. You were abolished, annihilated: vaporized was the usual world.’ George Orwell (1984)

bookquotemonster

Leave a Reply

